Twelve Basic Concepts of Law in Kant and the Compound Yijing

Stephen R. Palmquist

Research output: Contribution to journalJournal articlepeer-review

14 Downloads (Pure)


This fourth article in a six-part series correlating Kant’s philosophy with the Yijing begins by summarizing the foregoing articles: both Kant and the Yijing’s 64 hexagrams (gua) employ “architectonic” reasoning to form a four-level system with 0+4+12+(4x12) elements, the fourth level’s four sets of 12 correlating to Kant’s model of four university “faculties”. This article explores the second twelvefold set, the law faculty. The “idea of reason” guiding this wing of the comparative analysis is immortality. Three of Kant’s “quaternities” correspond to three sets of four gua in the Yijing: the fourfold nature of the soul in rational psychology (as substantial, simple, unified, spatially related) corresponds to gua 47, 6, 58, 10, respectively; the three “Definitive Articles” and fourth, “Secret Article”, in Perpetual Peace correspond to gua 16, 35,51, 21; and the four objective relations of law to duty in Metaphysics of Morals correspond to gua 45, 12, 17, 25.
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)109-126
Number of pages18
JournalModernos & Contemporâneos - International Journal of Philosophy
Issue number1
Publication statusPublished - Jan 2017

User-Defined Keywords

  • Immanuel Kant
  • Yijing
  • Book of Changes
  • political philosophy
  • rational psychology
  • architectonic reasoning
  • immortality of the soul
  • peace
  • duty


Dive into the research topics of 'Twelve Basic Concepts of Law in Kant and the Compound Yijing'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this