Five Fragments for Vocalizing Violinist

Camilo MENDEZ (Composer), Aysen Ulucan (Performer)

Research output: Non-textual formComposition


I composed 5 Fragments for vocalizing violinist as an invitation by Ellen Jewett and Klasik Keyifler to participate in their project Sei Solo 2020. The project was inspired by a series of works for solo violin composed by Bach in 1720 (Sei Solo Violino senza Basso accompagnato) to commemorate their 300 years of existence. I was commissioned to compose a work for solo violin and I was paired with violinist Ayşen Ulucan, with whom I have collaborated to develop the materials of my piece. My work is inspired by Bach’s Partita BWV 1002 in B minor, specifically the Doubles and the polyphonic texture. After each movement of the Partita Bach included a double, which are variations of the movements. With this idea in mind I composed my fragments. Conceptually, my work is a collection of variations that can be performed in any order, but as if they are a single movement. In order to reinforce the idea of polyphony; the instrumental texture is enhanced using the voice of the violinist to produce an independent vocal texture. Ayşen sings and produces percussive sounds that interact with the instrumental textures. These fragments are not only a celebration of Bach’s work. I have paid tribute to other influences: John Cage and Johnny Cash. I translated their names into pitches (Bb-A-C-B, C-A-G-E and C-A-Eb-Bb) and structure the sections of the fragments around them.
Original languageEnglish
PublisherKlasik Keyifler
Media of outputOther
Publication statusPublished - 30 Dec 2022

Scopus Subject Areas

  • Arts and Humanities(all)


Dive into the research topics of 'Five Fragments for Vocalizing Violinist'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this