Debris: Phonos Foundation (Barcelona)

Roberto Alonso Trillo (Composer), Stylianos Dimou (Composer), Mariam Gviniashvil (Composer), Bihe Wen (Composer), David Nguyen (Composer), Kyoka (Composer), Iván Ferrer-Orozco (Composer), Didem Coskunseven (Composer), Marek Poliks (Composer)

Research output: Non-textual formPerformance


Performance of Debris at the Phonos Foundation in Barcelona (Spain).

In this concert, we present a set of electronic compositions based on materials generated by the Demiurge audio synthesis engine, a music machine-learning platform. Demiurge consists of a tripartite neural network architecture developed by Roberto Alonso, Marek Poliks, and a team of collaborators at the Hong Kong Baptist University. Debris indexes a subset of Demiurge’s massive output database as waste material ripe for creative reconsumption. Working with Debris invokes an array of concepts that range from archaeomusicology to new materialism; Debris positions its human and nonhuman collaborators within a network, a Deleuzian assemblage, an Adornian constellation, a swarm intelligence, a xenobestial orgy, a platform. These human-in-the-loop interactions were begotten by Mariam Gviniashvili, Kyoka, Dariush Derakhshani, David Q. Nguyen, Didem Coskunseven, Bihe Wen, Stylianos Dimou and Iván Ferrer-Orozco.
Original languageEnglish
PublisherPhonos Foundation
Media of outputOther
Publication statusPublished - 3 Nov 2022

Scopus Subject Areas

  • Music


Dive into the research topics of 'Debris: Phonos Foundation (Barcelona)'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this