BURSZTYN III: Flexidra II: Solitaire

Camilo Mendez (Composer), Pedro Pablo Camara Toldos (Performer)

Research output: Non-textual formDigital, visual or audio products


The BURSZTYN cycle of compositions is a collection of works inspired by two series of sculptures titled Minimaquina and Flexidra by the Colombian artist Feliza Bursztyn (1938-1982). Conceptually, the cycle explores the idea of creating impossible musical objects, altering and/or adding elements forming to traditional Western instruments. Structurally, each work is assembled using musical textures similar to machines that are collapsing. Flexidra II was premiered at the EMA Festival. Here, the performer must, in addition to playing a prepared instrument, vocalise the syllables making up the name Feliza Bursztyn and produce percussive sounds with the tongue (clicking) The vocal and instrumental textures are interwoven and are of equal importance. This work is a homage in memory of the artist, which is why the saxophonist must invoke her name. The baritone saxophone is prepared with aluminium paper in the bell to create a degree of distortion or to colour the resulting sounds.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationSpain
PublisherIBS Classical
Media of outputCD
Publication statusPublished - Jan 2020

Scopus Subject Areas

  • Arts and Humanities(all)


Dive into the research topics of 'BURSZTYN III: Flexidra II: Solitaire'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this